Life as Clay

Getting back up to speed

leave a comment »


Wow, the flu really knocked me out for about 2 weeks. Tack Thanksgiving and an increased workload onto that and I’ve been away for far too long. I am, however, getting back up to speed. I’ve been working through several of the chapters in “Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X” to get a flavor for whether I would like to pursue Obj-C / Cocoa further. It’s a great book, but there are some inconsistencies with Snow Leopard and the screenshots are from an old version of Xcode, which seems to have moved a good number of option buttons around in the Preferences, etc. My only other concern is that some of the Obj-C used in the book is depreciated by Apple, or so it would appear when I try to look it up in the developer documentation. The code compiles and runs, so I’m not that worried about it, but I would prefer to use the currently accepted code/methods than the depreciated ones. Nevertheless, I’m enjoying it and would love to take the Cocoa for Beginners class at BNR.

If anybody reading this has thoughts about the book and code depreciation, I would love to hear them. I suppose it’s time for a Fourth Edition.

depreciated code?

Written by Clay

December 3, 2009 at 19:46

Posted in Code

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

