Life as Clay

When random is funny

leave a comment »


I had to chuckle… Continuing the Population Generator, I grabbed lists of the most common names in the United States (1000 for male and female, plus 1000 surnames) and wrote a function to assign a name to everybody in my pseudo populations. On the first test of this, what do I get out of all of the randomness but baby Anthony Hopkins. That’s not to mention Cindy Bird and Heath Byrd… Random isn’t feeling so random.

Anthony HopkinsI encountered an error when trying to import a file into Processing. This silly dialog box popped up, which also made me chuckle, because it reminds me of some of the temp dialog boxes that I used to include in Access apps that I wrote. From time to time I forgot to remove them or change the text and I always had a confused/bemused person calling to ask what it meant.

funny dialogIt lied, though… It deleted the file in place and I had to recreate it.

Written by Clay

November 6, 2009 at 18:15

Leave a Reply

